Today Shouichi Shouji & Kimiko Sugiyama took me out to where they had their organic farm in Miyagi Prefecture about 60km’s from the fukushima nuclear power plant. They had just built their house there in 2010 less than a year before the accident. They had to stop growing food there as they tested the soil and it was nearly 2000 becquerels per 1kg.. They are now living down in Sendai and I think the one thing that really stayed with me today that I can not forget is the sadness I felt from Shoich when he said that “Life was so good and happy before the accident” I just keep thinking “Why are we mining uranium Australia.”

And why are we mining uranium in northern Saskatchewan?

Watch this touching video showing the effects of Fukushima.

Leave a Reply

